尿酶抑制剂NBPT

尿素作为氮肥是世界农业中最重要的肥料。然而,土壤中的尿素被土壤中的脲酶快速分解,分解出大量的氮损失,降低了尿素氮的利用效率。同时,由于尿素的水解,土壤中氨的浓度增加。这对种子发芽和植物有毒。已经提出使用尿酶抑制剂来抑制尿素的水解作为解决上述问题的重要方法之一。尿酶抑制剂可以通过减少氨的分解来分解氨来增加表面施肥(尿素)的功效。

NBPT尿酶抑制剂具有以下特征:NBPT在普通土壤和气候条件下具有较高的尿酶抑制活性。 NBPT可以降低种子毒性的风险,减少氨挥发,并在相当程度上提高作物产量和蛋白质含量。 NBPT对人类,农作物以及消费和消费作物的人没有任何破坏性影响。

NBPT

应用:精细化工厂。
生产条件:必须有水,电,蒸汽和其他公共工程设施。

尽管脲酶抑制剂在农业中广泛使用,但关于它们对氮(N)吸收和同化的影响的信息很少。这项工作的目的是在生理和转录水平上研究N-(正丁基)硫代磷酰三胺(NBPT)对水培生长的玉米植物中尿素营养的影响。 NBPT在营养液中的存在限制了植物利用尿素作为N-源的能力;这表现为尿素摄取率和15N积累的减少。值得注意的是,这些负面影响仅在植物用尿素喂养时才明显,因为NBPT没有改变硝酸盐喂养植物中的15N积累。当尿素用作N-源时,NBPT还损害了拟南芥植物的生长,而对用硝酸盐或铵生长的植物没有影响。该响应至少部分地与NBPT对高亲和力尿素转运系统的直接影响相关。使用过表达ZmDUR3和dur3敲除的拟南芥系进一步评估NBPT对尿素摄取的影响;结果表明,抑制剂不仅可以影响转运,还可以影响尿素同化。尿素的过度积累和NBPT处理的植物中铵浓度的降低加强了这一假设。此外,转录分析显示在玉米根中 NBPT 治疗严重损害了参与尿酸 - 氮同化和铵转运的细胞溶质途径的基因的表达。 NBPT还限制了编码由尿素高度诱导的转录因子的基因的表达,并且可能在其获得的调节中起关键作用。这项工作提供了证据表明NBPT可以严重干扰玉米植物中的尿素营养,限制流入以及随后的同化途径。

介绍

尿素是世界上最常用的氮肥(N),年产量超过5000万吨,占世界氮肥消费量的50%以上(国际肥料工业协会,2008)。过去几十年尿素肥料使用量的惊人增长主要是由于其具有竞争力的价格和高N含量(质量的46%),这使得运输和配送成本降低(Miller和Cramer,2004)。

虽然实验证据表明植物通过叶子施用提供尿素本身的能力(Wittwer等,1963; Nicolaud和Bloom,1998; Witte等,2002),但一种常见的农艺实践是向尿素提供尿素。通过土壤施肥作物。除了使用无机氮源外,植物(包括作物)已被证明能够吸收完整的尿素(综述见Kraiser等,2011; Nacry等,2013)。特别是,玉米植物在根细胞中具有专门的跨膜转运系统,用于获得分别由DUR3转运蛋白和水通道蛋白介导的高亲和力和低亲和力的尿素(Gaspar等,2003; Gu等,2012; Zanin等。 al。,2014; Liu et al。,2015; Yang et al。,2015)。

在土壤溶液中,尿素的稳定性严格依赖于微生物脲酶的活性,微生物脲酶是一种在微生物中普遍表达并释放到土壤中的镍依赖性酶(Watson等,1994)。此外,即使在微生物腐烂后,脲酶活性仍可在土壤中持续存在(Watson等,1994)。该酶催化尿素水解成铵和二氧化碳,其活性与微生物生物量成比例,微生物生物量又取决于土壤的有机质量和水含量。铵可以以这种形式保留为可交换的阳离子或以氨的形式挥发;它也可以作为硝化过程转化为硝酸盐的基质。因此,至少在短时间内,尿素施肥可能导致植物根部同时暴露于尿素,铵和硝酸盐(Mérigout等,2008b)。

主要由于氨挥发和硝酸盐浸出,尿素的快速水解将导致植物营养的N可用性降低和尿素肥料的使用效率降低(Zaman等人,2008)。因此减少尿素氨排放的最常用策略之一是应用脲酶抑制剂。除了减缓尿素水解之外,这些分子还允许尿素远离施用部位扩散,有利于其作为植物根部的完整分子摄取。

最有希望和测试的土壤脲酶抑制剂是NBPT(商品名Agrotain®),其活性与其氧化形式的转化有关(Watson,2005)。 NBPT是尿素的结构类似物(Medina和Radel,1988),其对脲酶活性具有混合抑制作用(增加的Km和降低的Vmax; Juan等,2009)。分子动力学计算表明,NBPT协调脲酶活性位点的镍原子并结合尿素衍生的氨基甲酸酯的氧原子(Manunza等,1999)。

寻找含有尿素和脲酶抑制剂的营销配方并不罕见(Watson,2005)。实验证据表明脲酶抑制剂的活性可能受环境因素影响,如pH(Hendrickson和Douglass,1993),温度(Hendrickson和O'Connor,1987)和土壤含水量(Sigunga等, 2002; Clough等,2004)。

关于NBPT在植物中的生理作用的有限信息(Watson和Miller,1996; Cruchaga等,2011)。据报道,当用尿素和NBPT处理植物时,一些物种表现出明显的毒性症状,伴随着叶片焦枯和坏死叶缘的瞬时发展(Watson和Miller,1996; Artola等,2011; Cruchaga等, 2011)。 Cruchaga等人。 (2011)报道NBPT被豌豆和菠菜根吸收并转移到叶子上;因此,NBPT可以想象地抑制内源叶和根脲酶的活性(Watson和Miller,1996; Artola等,2011; Cruchaga等,2011; Ariz等,2012)。此外,在NBPT存在下谷氨酰胺合成酶活性和氨基酸水平降低(Artola等,2011; Cruchaga等,2011)。总之,这些结果表明,尿素酶抑制剂损害了尿素作为植物N的来源的使用,但是仍然缺乏关于NBPT对获得该N源的生理和分子方面的影响的知识。

目前的研究目的是研究NBPT对玉米植株获取尿素能力的短期影响。我们小组以前的研究在体内描述了玉米根中尿素的高亲和力转运系统,并表明尿素很快诱导其获得(Zanin等,2014)。因此,在目前的工作中,NBPT的作用被研究了高亲和力流入系统的可诱导组分的功能。通过分析已知由尿素调节的基因转录的变化来支持生理数据。

urine enzyme inhibitor NBPT

Urea as a nitrogen fertilizer is the most important fertilizer in the world's agriculture. However, the urea in the soil is rapidly decomposed by the urease enzyme in the soil to decompose a large amount of nitrogen loss and reduce the utilization efficiency of urea nitrogen. At the same time, due to the hydrolysis of urea, the concentration of ammonia in the soil increases. This is toxic to seed germination and plants. The use of a urinary enzyme inhibitor to inhibit the hydrolysis of urea has been proposed as one of the important methods for solving the above problems. Urine enzyme inhibitors can increase the efficacy of surface fertilization (urea) by reducing the decomposition of ammonia to decompose ammonia.

NBPT urinary enzyme inhibitors have the following characteristics: NBPT has higher urinary enzyme inhibitory activity in common soil and climatic conditions. NBPT can reduce the risk of seed toxicity, reduce ammonia volatilization, and increase the crop yield and protein content to a considerable extent. NBPT has no damaging effects on people, crops, and people who consume and consume crops.

NBPT

Applications: Fine chemical plants.
Production conditions: There must be water, electricity, steam and other public works facilities.

Despite the widespread use of urease inhibitors in agriculture, little information is available on their effect on nitrogen (N) uptake and assimilation. Aim of this work was to study, at physiological and transcriptional level, the effects of N-(n-butyl) thiophosphoric triamide (NBPT) on urea nutrition in hydroponically grown maize plants. Presence of NBPT in the nutrient solution limited the capacity of plants to utilize urea as a N-source; this was shown by a decrease in urea uptake rate and 15N accumulation. Noteworthy, these negative effects were evident only when plants were fed with urea, as NBPT did not alter 15N accumulation in nitrate-fed plants. NBPT also impaired the growth of Arabidopsis plants when urea was used as N-source, while having no effect on plants grown with nitrate or ammonium. This response was related, at least in part, to a direct effect of NBPT on the high affinity urea transport system. Impact of NBPT on urea uptake was further evaluated using lines of Arabidopsis overexpressing ZmDUR3 and dur3-knockout; results suggest that not only transport but also urea assimilation could be compromised by the inhibitor. This hypothesis was reinforced by an over-accumulation of urea and a decrease in ammonium concentration in NBPT-treated plants. Furthermore, transcriptional analyses showed that in maize roots NBPT treatment severely impaired the expression of genes involved in the cytosolic pathway of ureic-N assimilation and ammonium transport. NBPT also limited the expression of a gene coding for a transcription factor highly induced by urea and possibly playing a crucial role in the regulation of its acquisition. This work provides evidence that NBPT can heavily interfere with urea nutrition in maize plants, limiting influx as well as the following assimilation pathway.

Introduction

Urea is the most frequently used nitrogen (N) fertilizers in the world with annual amount of over 50 million tons accounting for more than 50% of the world N fertilizer consumption (International Fertilizer Industry Association, 2008). The incredible increase in urea fertilizer use during the last decades is mainly due to its competitive price and the high N content (46% of mass), that allow reducing transport and distribution costs (Miller and Cramer, 2004).

Although experimental evidence reported the ability of plants to use urea per se when supplied through leaf application (Wittwer et al., 1963; Nicolaud and Bloom, 1998; Witte et al., 2002), a common agronomic practice is to supply urea to the crops by soil fertilization. Besides using inorganic N sources, plants, including crops, have been shown to be able to take up intact urea (for review, see Kraiser et al., 2011; Nacry et al., 2013). In particular, maize plants possess dedicated transmembrane transport systems in root cells for the acquisition of urea with high and low affinity, mediated by a DUR3 transporter and aquaporins, respectively (Gaspar et al., 2003; Gu et al., 2012; Zanin et al., 2014; Liu et al., 2015; Yang et al., 2015).

In the soil solution the stability of urea is strictly dependent on the activity of the microbial urease, a nickel-dependent enzyme ubiquitously expressed in microorganisms and released into soil (Watson et al., 1994). Moreover urease activity can persist in the soil even after the decay of the microorganisms (Watson et al., 1994). This enzyme catalyzes the hydrolysis of urea into ammonium and carbon dioxide and its activity is proportional to the microbial biomass, which in turn depends on the organic matter amount and the water content of the soil. Ammonium could remain in this form as exchangeable cation or volatilized in form of ammonia; it could also serve as a substrate for nitrification process being transformed into nitrate. Thus, at least for short periods of time, urea fertilization may result in a simultaneous exposure of plant roots to urea, ammonium and nitrate (Mérigout et al., 2008b).

Mainly due to ammonia volatilization and nitrate leaching, the rapid hydrolysis of urea would lead to a decreased N availability for plant nutrition and to a lower use efficiency of urea fertilizers (Zaman et al., 2008). So one of the most used strategies to reduce ammonia emissions from urea fertilizer is to apply urease inhibitors. Besides slowing urea hydrolysis, these molecules allow the diffusion of urea far away from the application site favoring its uptake as an intact molecule by the plant roots.

The most promising and tested soil urease inhibitor is the NBPT(trade name Agrotain®), whose activity is associated with the conversion to its oxidized form (Watson, 2005). NBPT is a structural analog of urea (Medina and Radel, 1988) acting with mixed inhibition on urease activity (increased Km and decreased Vmax; Juan et al., 2009). Molecular dynamic calculations showed that NBPT coordinates both nickel atoms of the urease active site and binds the oxygen atom of the urea-derived carbamate (Manunza et al., 1999).

It is not unusual to find marketing formulations containing urea in combination with urease inhibitor (Watson, 2005). Experimental evidence has been provided showing that the activity of urease inhibitors could be affected by environmental factors such as pH (Hendrickson and Douglass, 1993), temperature (Hendrickson and O’Connor, 1987), and soil moisture content (Sigunga et al., 2002; Clough et al., 2004).

Limited information is available on the physiological effects of NBPT in plants (Watson and Miller, 1996; Cruchaga et al., 2011). It has been reported that some species showed visible symptoms of toxicity when plants were treated with urea and NBPT with the transient development of leaf scorches and necrotic leaf margins (Watson and Miller, 1996; Artola et al., 2011; Cruchaga et al., 2011). Cruchaga et al. (2011) reported that NBPT is taken up by pea and spinach roots and translocated to the leaves; thus NBPT can conceivably inhibit the activity of endogenous leaf and root urease (Watson and Miller, 1996; Artola et al., 2011; Cruchaga et al., 2011; Ariz et al., 2012). Moreover glutamine synthetase activity and amino acid level are reduced in presence of NBPT (Artola et al., 2011; Cruchaga et al., 2011). Altogether these results showed that the urease inhibitor compromised the use of urea as a source of N for plants, but there is still a lack of knowledge on the physiological and molecular aspects of NBPT effects on the acquisition of this N source.

The aim of the current research was to study the short-term effects of NBPT on the capacity of maize plants to acquire urea. Previous studies from our group described in vivo the high affinity transport system of urea in maize roots and showed that urea quickly induce its acquisition (Zanin et al., 2014). Therefore, in the present work the action of NBPT was studied on the functionality of the inducible component of the high affinity influx system. Physiological data were supported by analysis of changes in the transcription of genes known to be modulated by urea.